The Gatewood Addition was platted in 1922. Although the Catholic Church had several structures on the land donated by the University Development Company, the rest of the area had been undeveloped. Stringent plat restrictions were established for areas between present-day Kentucky and Indiana Avenues. Homes along NW 21 to NW 23 were to be developed at a minimum cost of $3000; homes along NW 20th and NW 19th were to cost at least $4000, while $7000 was to be spent on homes in the rest of the area. Similar guidelines were maintained between Kentucky and Virginia, but homes between Virginia and Pennsylvania were allowed to be developed in a more random fashion. The growing Catholic community required expansion of the Mission at the Meerschaert House. In 1925, the Jesuit Parish was established by Bishop Francis Kelley. A Parish school was founded in 1927 on Young’s Boulevard, and was later moved to the present site of Rosary School. A rectory was built in 1935, and in 1949, the St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church was completed.
Today the Gatewood neighborhood in Oklahoma City is a vibrant, growing place just north of The Plaza District, bounded by 16th Street to the south, 23rd Street to the north, Classen Boulevard to the east and Pennsylvania Avenue to the west.
Homes for Sale in the Gatewood Neighborhood